Invasion from the north

So what happens when I get bored?

I officially register for the Rhode Island 70.3 race and buy and new triathlon bike from a Canadian company, damn canucks.

I bought the Cervelo P2C ultegra version.

 

 I am very excited about this purchase. I did a lot of research, rode different bikes and decided that this was the best value and bike for me.

I went for a ride of about an hour today and what a difference the handling is from a rode bike. The steering is much more responsive. It is going to take some getting use to. I am glad I bought it now so it gives me plenty of time before rhode island. Based on my ride today I am happy I got a road bike first and got comfortable with that because it will help me with learning to handle this bike.

Compared to my road bike it is a few pounds lighter so that makes a big difference in climbing. Also it is carbon instead of aluminum and this makes for a much smoother design. But most importantly it is faster.

I am also excited about the “aero” benefits of the bike. Looking at the bike head on it’s like it’s not there. The fork and tubes also have airfoil shapes, and there is a cutout in the frame that tucks the rear wheel in. Supposedly the designers at Cervelo spent a lot of time in the wind tunnel working on the design.

3 responses to “Invasion from the north

  1. Nice bike. What are those things on the end of the “aero bars” (I think thats what they are called, they stick straight out and you rest your arm/forearm on it. ) Gear change? Brakes?

    Crazy how the wheel takes a bite out of the main support.

    Did you tell Adam about this blog?

  2. Nice bike. What are those things on the end of the “aero bars” (I think thats what they are called, they stick straight out and you rest your arm/forearm on it. ) Gear change? Brakes?

    Crazy how the wheel takes a bite out of the main support.

    Did you tell Adam about this blog?

  3. howarda20837

    Yes they are called aero bars. At the end of the aero bars is the shifters. It lets you stay in the aero position and still shift. On the road bike they are off to the side with the brakes. The one thing with the aerobars is that when you are using them it takes a second to get to the brakes since they are on the outside so you need to think ahead when braking.

    The rear wheel cutout is neat so of the bikes have even more cutout then that. It’s a really tightly toleranced manufacturing because there is not much room between the wheel and frame.

    I haven’t told Adam about this yet. I’ve been talking to him through email the last couple days and I think he’s going to do the rhode island ironman also. If he does you should see if you can make it up there for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

