Ironman Rhode Island 70.3 Quick Race Summary

Swim (1.2 miles): 35:52 (1:53 per 100m)

T1: 4:53

Bike (56 miles): 3:11:44 (17.52 MPH avg)

T2: 2:23

Run(13.1 miles): 2:16:43 (10:26/mile)

Total: 6:11:35

Rank: 811/~1600, AG 43/77

 

The swim went just I had hoped for probably better. It was my race in the Ocean and got a little of course with the waves and current.

T1 was long because I visited the bathroom.

The bike was great for the first 25 miles. Then I got a flat tire and had to stop. I wound up messing up the CO2 containers used to re inflate the tires so I had to wait for an official with a pump. I stopped my garmin when I got out to fix it, and that ordeal cost me about 20-25 minutes. Without the stop I did a 2:48:xx which is about a 20.0 mph average which was what I was shooting for. The course was beatufil with the first third mostly along the ocean.

T2 was uneventful. When I was running with my cycling shoes on it felt I was going to have a blister but was fortunate I did not.

The run was hard. It had an absurd hill on it and was two loops so you got to do it twice. It was from downtown Providence up to Brown University. I heard they used if for street luge races when they had the X-Games there. The second loop was really difficult, there was a lot of walking on that second loop.

Overall I was happy with the result. My main goal from the start of the year was to break 6 hours. That would have easily happened without the flat, but that’s part of racing so I have to deal with it.

I’ll write up a lot more about this tomorrow when I get home, and put some pictures and GPS up as well.

Leave a Reply

