Rest of the Year

 

So I have decided what I am going to do for the rest of the year. I will do the Patriot’s Half race in early September in Williamsburg, VA instead of the Austin Half in early October.

Two main things went into this decision. If I did the Austin Half in October I wouldn’t be able to the Marnie Corps Marathon at the end of October. I want to do a marathon this year and think I can blow away my two previous results. This will also force me to do a lot more running which would be  good thing.

Second is $$$. Austin would require a flight, hotel, bike transport,etc. I priced it out and conservative estimate would be slightly over $1,000. I don’t want to spend that much for a race this year.

Willimsburg should be fun, it’s been a while since I’ve been there so I might take a few days off work and go around after the race and visit Busch Gardens.

The Patriots Half is also part of the Virginia triathlon series. I am going to do some shorter races through the rest of the year and should have enough events to qualify for the end of seasons awards so I’ll see if I can win something in that.

Looking ahead the Patriots Half is a special qualifier for the 2009 USA Triathlon Halfmax National Championships. To qualify I would need to finish in the top 33% of my age group, and based on how I have done in local/regional level races this year I think that is achievable. The race would be in November 2009 so it might line up with airshow out there, or just be another excuse to go back to Vegas.

2 responses to “Rest of the Year

  1. I am game for an ’09 Vegas…

    Busch Gardens is fun, I haven’t been to that one since maybe 2000. Good choice!

  2. haha..thats the first thing i thought when i read vegas next year….”joe will definitely be ready for that!!”

    haha 🙂

    looks like a lot of fun races!…and by fun, i mean fun for you to do, fun for me to read about!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

