Long run

Today I did my third 15 miler in training for my marathon. This one went really well, it was suppose to be marathon pace +30 sec/mile and I hit that pace and did just over 9 min per mile without feeling like I was working hard, and the heart rate backs that up. So what that means is my goal pace is going to be 8:3x which comes out to around a 3:45 marathon. I’ll have to reevaluate that pace when it closers to the race and the temperature that day will change the pace as well. 

The marathon training has been going a lot better then my last two times. I think there are two main reasons for this, the first being I am about 10-20 pounds lighter then the previous times which makes a huge dufference in long distance running. The second reason is a combination of the trainning plan and my GPS wristwatch. The training plan has the exact pace of what each run should be and having the instant feedback on my watch makes me accountable for each and every workout.

 

Leave a Reply

