Nations Triathlon Race Report

This should be short. I didn’t do the race, it was my first did not start (DNS).

I took the metro in to DC and got my packet on Friday, but in the end I decided not to do the race. My goal for the rest of the season is to have a good race at the Marine Corps Marathon, and doing this race wasn’t going to help me get that done. The four reasons I ended up not doing the race.

  1. I have been doing a lot of running the last couple of months and I was feeling really worn down this week and needed the break.
  2. Because my focus has been on running my swimming and biking volume has been done a lot so a PR probably wasn’t going to happen.
  3. Logistically this race would have been as mess getting downtown early enough to find parking.
  4. I wanted to spend all day Saturday looking at houses with a real estate agent. Which I did and got to see some good listings. If I did the race I would have had to go check my bike in Saturday and would not have been able to do that.

I think I made the right choice in not doing the race but I felt bad about not doing the race since I paid the money and it would have been a good time seeing the sites and racing through the city.

I’m looking forward to reliving the race vicariously by reading some of the people’s blogs I follow, and it looks like he had a good race.

Leave a Reply

