MCRRC New Year’s Day 5k

I ran a New Years day 5k with the Montgomery County Road Runners Club. And it was cold! Luckily the race started at 10 so it had warmed up a little bit.

dsc03369_edited-1

The race was in Gaithersburg back in an industrial park and was a two loop course with a couple of quick hills. I did a MCRRC race in November and was happy with the low entry fee and organization of the races, so before the race I signed up to be a MCRRC member and am now able to enter MCRRC races free for the rest of the year. I am also planning on going to some of the weekly runs with the club.

dsc03372_edited-1

I warmed up before the race and got ready to go. The race made a hard right hand turn 200 yards after the start so I lined up towards the front and went hard from the get go to avoid the squeeze of people. I wound up going a little harder then I wanted for the first mile and ran a 6:30. I paid for this latter in the race and slowed down significantly.

dsc03392_edited-1

I made it through the first loop feeling good and on pace to break 21:00. Going up the little hill on the second lap I started to tire and slowed down on the second loop.

dsc03415_edited-1

I tried to pick it up a notch the last quarter mile but just didn’t have anything and finished in 21:03. Close to my goal but I didn’t get it, although I was 8 seconds faster then my best so this was another PR.  

 dsc03440_edited-1

I would really like to be able to break 20 minutes by the end of February and I think that is as reasonable goal and one I can achieve.

 

Also here a couple of good pictures for the fist two runners early in the race. If you come across these and want the picture shoot me an email (howarda20837@gmail.com) and I can send them to you.

dsc03383_edited-1

 

dsc03384_edited-11

Leave a Reply

