MCRRC Run Aware 5k

I did another race today. It was a MCRRC 5k race in Wheaton regional park. I had to deal with the crazy weather that is a DC winter. We went from high 50’s and 60 Thursday to a dusting of snow Saturday night. Here’s a couple of pictures on the way back from the race.

DSC03731

 DSC03732

It was snowing a little bit the morning of the race but it wasn’t very cold which was nice.

 DSC03659_edited-1

Here’s me walking towards the start line after warming up

DSC03662_edited-1

and waiting for the start

DSC03663_edited-1

This was a tough race. It was a very rolling course. Here’s the elevation profile.

MCRRC 5k 3-1-2009, Elevation - Distance

The course was interesting because it was made up of a few loops that are trails through the woods. The problem was the snow made them a little bit wet. Footing wasn’t an issue but it was in the back of my mind and didn’t run the downhill parts as fast as I would if it was dry.

MCRRC 5k 3-1-2009

here are some pictures from the race.

Everyone starting

DSC03670_edited-1

Early in the race

DSC03676_edited-1

DSC03684_edited-1

Going out for one of the loops on the trail DSC03686_edited-1

Coming back

DSC03694_edited-1

Going out on another loop

 DSC03700_edited-1

Running through the woods

 DSC03703_edited-1

Finishing

 DSC03718_edited-1

This was a tough course. I finished just over 23:00 when I usually run a 21:00. It seemed like everyone’s times were slow and I came in the same place I did as the 5 miler a few ago, 45th. Overall this was a fun race that was very challenging and a great workout. This was another MCRRC race and I was impressed again with the organization and post race spread for a race that is free for members.

There’s a 10km race toward the end of March that I’ll probably to and use it as a qualifying time if I decide to do the Peachtree 10k.

 

So with that race it is the end of my “off season”.  And next week I am starting a month long block of resuming regular swimming and increasing the run and bike volume. This block will end with the ING Georgia Half Marathon.

Leave a Reply

