Embarrassed

This week was the start of ramping up the training volume which includes swimming 3-4 times a week again. I’m not sure if I want to swim in the morning near work or in the afternoon near home so I’m going to try both out for a while. Tuesday I went to the Germantown Aquatics Center.

This is one of my favorite pools to swim at because it’s so nice but I was worried it was going to be really crowded. It turns out the RMSC uses most of the pool until 7:30 but two lanes are open so I was able to swim.

I am not a fast swimmer and getting back in the swing of swimming made me even slower but yesterday I got to find out how embarrassingly slow I am. I was swimming right next to what looked like the slowest lane of the swim team made up what I would guess were nine year olds or younger. And it wasn’t even close to the speed I was swimming at. If I was the last person in their lane I would guess I could hang to someone’s feet for 150 yards and that’s about it. It was amazing how much more efficient their swim strokes looked. I have a lot of work left to do with my swimming.

Leave a Reply

