Flat tires and Alpacas

For my Saturday ride I went out early to get ahead of the afternoon rain. I did my Middletown ride which includes a climb with a couple of very steep sections, it tops out at 15% in the first section, and 12.5% at the end.

image

image 

I find that climbs like this that are short and steep are a lot harder for me then longer more gradual climbs like along skyline drive.

I was having a very good ride until about 30 miles in when I got a flat on my front tire and I almost crashed going around a corner. I got the tire changed and went riding again. It turns out I also had a flat on rear wheel. Which sucked because I only brought one spare tube with me so I pumped it back up and rode back with a semi-flat tire. I think what happened was I hit a pothole at high speed and it caused a “pinch” flat in both wheels were the tube gets stuck on the rim and punctures. This is probably what happened because when I got home I took both tires off and looked for any debris or cuts and didn’t find any. I decided to change the tires to a pair I had sitting around the garage anyway and I haven’t had any trouble since.

I have been very happy with biking the last couple of weeks, and where my power numbers are at. I have put in a lot of miles and a ton of climbing so I’m excited to see how this translates to my race this weekend where I doing an Olympic distance race on Saturday and a spring on Sunday.

IMG_0069_edited-1

There is an Alpaca farm near Frederick that I also drive by and they had an open house so I stopped by to see what they look like up close. They are some hideous looking animals.

 IMG_0083_edited-1

They are very docile as evident by little kids running around with them and that they are very friendly with feeding.

IMG_0074_edited-1

IMG_0077_edited-1

Alpacas are a lot like sheep because their main function is for wool. They had some things for sale at the open house so I might go back in a couple of days and get some Alpaca gloves.

IMG_0071_edited-1

One response to “Flat tires and Alpacas

  1. Joseph Iacobucci

    did you get the gloves?

Leave a Reply

