Candy Cane City 5km Race

I finally got under 21 minutes for a 5 km race. There’s not really much you can write about for a 5 km race. You run fast and try to keeping running that fast the whole time which you can see in the pace and heart rate charts of the race.

 image

image

Prerace:

Winter is getting here, there was a little bit of frost hanging around this morning

DSC07954_edited-1 DSC07953_edited-1

Just finishing my warm-up:

DSC07922_edited-1

Obviously I wasn’t very nervous before the race:

DSC07923_edited-1

The only thing of note from the race was I went out at a fast pace but that was by design. The course is very narrow at the start and I didn’t want to boxed in and forced to weave through people so I went out fast and then settled into my pace.

This pictures illustrates what I am talking about.

DSC07934_edited-1

And this is why I wanted to be up at the front so I didn’t have to run through this:

DSC07944_edited-1

And here are some more race pictures:

DSC07937_edited-1

DSC07963_edited-1 

DSC07975_edited-1

I finished with a time right around 20:40 which is a big PR for me, and about a 6:38 min/mile pace and way under 21 minutes. I am excited because I’m seeing results from the run focus I have been doing with my training the last few weeks. The way things are going I think getting close to a 20 minute 5 km at a Thanksgiving race is definitely doable.

I think this post race picture does a good job of explaining what it feels like at the end of a 5 km race.

DSC07982_edited-1

I went biking later in the afternoon and got ANOTHER flat tire. That’s 3 flat tires in my last four rides after only have one flat tire in two years of riding. 

Leave a Reply

