Jingle Bell 8km Run

I needed to do one more race this year to qualify for the MCRRC Championship series. If I qualified I basically had second place looked up, not because I’m the second best person in that age group but because I’ve done enough races, I know there are a lot faster people behind me in the standings.

Knowing I “had to” do this race it made it a lot easier to get up this morning when the weather was in the 30’s and raining. I got over there, signed up and then waited in the car with the heater until about 10 minutes before the race and I warmed up for a little bit. Given how bad the weather looked it was surprising to see so many people out for the race.

DSC08363

DSC08367

As soon as the race started my legs wanted nothing to do with racing so I knew it was going to be a slow day. I ran a decent first mile but then the course went uphill and onto a little trail. I got behind some people running at a slower pace then I wanted but instead of passing them I just stayed behind until we got back on the road.

I tried to pick up the pace a little but my legs didn’t feel like going back to the pace of my first mile so I just cruised along  until we went onto another sidewalk/trail and I slowed a little bit more. The course had a lot of little rolling hills which kept things interesting but the cold, cold rain made for a couple of slippery spots. I just cruised along the rest of the race and finished in 37:xx averaging just under a 7:30 min/mile pace.

DSC08371

image

After the race I had some nice icicles forming on my hat and I learned the difference between “water resistant” and “water proof”, my pants and shirt were soaked and as soon as I stopped running I was freezing.  Looking back it probably would have been a good idea to bring a change of clothes.

DSC08373

 

And here are some pictures from the snow storm we got last week.

DSC08338

DSC08354

Leave a Reply

