MCRRC New Years Day 5km 2010

Just like last year I ran the New Years day 5k in Gaithersburg. The weather was a lot warmer this year which made things nice. The course is two loops through an industrial park with one small uphill/downhill on each loop.

image

I warmed up and then the race got started.

DSC08796

I went out at a decent pace but slowed more then I wanted going up the hill both times. Also the second time going up the bridge it took a while before I got my legs going again.

 image

Right after the first turn getting ready to go down the hill.

DSC08804

Running the first lapDSC08823DSC08816

Second Lap

DSC08817

DSC08827 

 

Finishing up

DSC08845

Setting a new PR. I ran a 20:40 a few weeks ago so it’s nice to see another 20 seconds off my time, and I’m inching close to breaking 20 minutes.

DSC08849 

Post-race and then it was time to get bagels and coffee. DSC08855

That’s another really nice thing with these low key races. You just sign up to be a club member and pay $5 for your timing chip you use all year, and after that all the races are free. And they have free food afterwards! The races normally cost $10 so the membership and chip pays for itself after three races. 

 

 

I did manage to set a new PR for highest heart rate as well. I topped out at 199, I just couldn’t break 200.

image

I have been doing a lot of running the last couple months and it’s nice to see a drop in all my race times and it seems like things are on track for me to have a reasonable shot at meeting my goal for the half marathon this spring.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

