Another Big Weekend

My buildup towards the Eagleman race in June is progressing well and I had another weekend of training.

Thursday

I got off a a cross country flight and then went for my long. I was expecting it to be a complete disaster but was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t. Last week’s long run was a mess so it’s nice to see a good one this week.

Friday

I had a short ran and swim. The swim went well with most of 100 times in the 1:30’s which is fairly good for me. Plus, I had a dentist appointment and didn’t have any cavities!

Saturday

I wanted to go to Cambridge and ride the area around the Eagleman course for my long ride but the Six Pillars century ride was going on so I switched my weekend rides and did my 2 hour ride and 30 min run today.

I also went and put some money on the Kentucky Derby. Unfortunately I lost. I got the #2 horse correct, but the #1 horse got boxed in on the home stretch and wasn’t able to get to the front.

Sunday

Today I went out to Cambridge for my long ride and I had a really good one. I needed to ride longer then the Eagleman route so I did one loop of the Chesapeakeman course.

I like going out to ride the course a couple times before the race because the terrain is pancake flat which is different then the rolling terrain near me.IMG_1714_edited-1

It’s reassuring to know that I can go 3+ hours riding in the aerobars for most of the ride. I also get an idea of what kind of time I’m going to able to do for the race plus it gives me an idea of how to handle different weather conditions.

IMG_1715_edited-1

Unlike last time when it was cold and calm, today was hot and windy. So I had some sections where I was putting out 290 watts with a 16 mph and others where I was coasting with 100 watts and going 21 mph.

 IMG_1697_edited-1

IMG_1725_edited-1

I found this intersection interesting. It’s my first and which way is the road? Do both of them have the same name?

IMG_1702_edited-1 

 

After the ride I found an AWESOME Pig place in Easton MD. Which I plan on going to whenever I go out to Cambridge for a bike ride.

IMG_1748_edited-1 

IMG_1750_edited-1 

Then it was time to come home and pack for another work trip this week.

IMG_1774_edited-1

Leave a Reply

