Home Stretch

This was my last big training week for Ealgeman and my two week taper started today. Thursday I went out for a long trail run, since I hurt my ankle this winter I haven’t been trail running much so this was a nice change of pace. It was scorching hot out and when I got done my shorts were so soaked with so much sweat it looked like I had hopped in the pool.

image

Saturday I had a “race rehearsal” work out which is a 56 mile bike ride at race pace followed by a six mile run. I wanted to go back to Cambridge and ride the course like I did a few weeks ago but the weather was predicted to be thunderstorms so I decided it would be better to stay at home and ride instead of driving for two hours just to get caught in a thunderstorm.

image

The problem with riding at home is that the terrain is very different so it isn’t a great simulation of what I’ll see on race day, which just miles and miles of flat. But this where the powermeter comes in handy, I just ride to the watts I need to and don’t worry about the speed because it will obviously be less then on race day. I had a good ride, hitting all my watts and I had a solid run afterwards. The bad news was the weather was perfect all day. That’s not really bad news, but it means I could have gone out to Cambridge and rode the Eagleman course again without getting rained on.

Sunday I got another bike ride done at a good pace.

image

  

Looking back at my training for Eagleman this spring I been much more consistent with my long runs and bikes compared to last year and I’m about 15 pounds lighter. Based on my training and race performance this year if I get good weather I should be capable of sub 5 hours and a 4:50:00 race is the goal.

Leave a Reply

