Sugarloaf Climb

I’m heading to New Hampshire for the 4th of July weekend so instead of doing my normal long today I switched it to the weekend so I don’t have to travel with my bike.

I was able to get out for a nice 2 1/2 hour ride after work and the weather could not have been better, it was 80 and sunny.  It was nice to have reprieve from the heat we have had the last couple weeks. I took the road bike out for the first time in a couple of months and took one of my loops out toward Sugarloaf mountain.

IMGP0159_edited-1

image

I haven’t gone up Sugarloaf since March when I was about 20 lbs heavier, and what a difference those lbs made. It had been taking me about 9 mins to climb the 1.3 miles and ~500 feet. It’s not a very hard climb, it averages about 6% with a couple of turns that go to 12% for a little bit. Today I was able to get to the top in just over 7 mins and average 315 watts, that’s an awfully big improvement.

 IMGP0157_edited-1

It’s been a three weeks since Eagleman and I’m still not sure what the rest of my year is going to be. I think I have it narrowed down to either the Philly Marathon in Nov. or trying the half ironman distance and doing the 70.3 race in Austin in October. I thought I was going to be burned out on the half ironman distance for the rest of this year but I’m starting to get the itch do another one.

I did make a decision for my 2011 race season. I am not going to do Eagleman again and am going to do Mooseman instead. The main reason for the change is the US Open Golf Tournament is the same week as Eagleman and that would pose a problem because the tournament at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda and I’m planning to volunteer at the tournament next year.

One last thing, check out DC Rainmaker’s blog I always find it entertaining and this week he is giving away a Garmin Forerunner 110 GPS watch. All you have to do is just leave a comment on that blog post by July 7th and you are entered, now strings attached.

Leave a Reply

