2010 Year in Review

This is my year in review post for 2010.  It’s really made up of two parts, pre and post Eagleman.

Before Eagleman I was training myself and had some good results, PR a 1/2 Half Marathon and an AG podium at one of my triathlons in my ramp up to Eagleman. But I wasn’t as prepared for Eagleman as I needed to be and Eagleman itself was a complete disaster.

After taking a few weeks off I decided it was time for a change and I wanted a coach. This was one of the best decisions I’ve made, the structure and consistency in my training has really paid off. Plus I’ve focused on my weight and it’s fallen  big time:

image   

I’ve had some very successful results the second half of the year, taking an AG win and barely missing a 10 top overall finish in an Olympic distance race. I overcoming some technical difficulties to set a PR at the Austin 1/2 Ironman in October and I’ve set 5k and 10k PR in the last four weeks.

Here is how everything compares to the last few years with a week and a half still left in 2010.

Year Total Hours Swim Time Swim yardage Bike Time Bike Miles Run Time Run Miles
2008 377 hr 79 195,000 163 2,621 135 917
2009 377 hr 65 184,000 156 2,811 156 1,086
2010 436 hr 104 311,000 166 2939 166 1,142

 

The one thing that stands out is the BIG jump in swim time and most of that has been in the second half of this compared to the first. I have had some technique lessons with my coach and I’ve been much more consistent week to week then every before. It’s paid off with some improved times in my two races this fall. But based on how things are progressing in the pool this winter next year I expect to be coming out of the water a lot closer to the front of the race then I have been in previous triathlons.

The bike and run times look about the same as past years  but are actually very different. In the past I’ve been doing a lot of rides/runs where I just went out with no goal or did some intervals. The second half of this year each and every workout had  a goals and purpose, this resulted in my improved run and bike times at races.

For 2011 goals I’m doing Eagleman again and think the 3rd year will be the year I finally get it right. Based on how much faster I’ve gotten and the improvements I expect to be making this winter, unless it is an absurdly hot race day I should be capable of breaking 4:40 which would put in a good spot for a World Championship roll down slot. 

The rest of the 2011 will be some running races this winter and some triathlons at Lake Anna in the build up to Eagleman. The second half of the year is TBD based on what happens at Eagleman but I will probably do another half at the end of the summer. I’m thinking of maybe the Rev3 South Carolina or go for temperature extremes with the sweltering heat of Eagleman and the sure to be cold temperatures at Ironman Pocono Mountains.

One response to “2010 Year in Review

  1. Pingback: 2011 Year in review and 2012 Goals | Howarda20837′s Weblog

Leave a Reply

