George Washington Birthday 10km race

Net time: 40:00.04, so close to hitting that sub 40 goal. It’s better then my last 10k and still a PR but taking that time in context it is much better then it looks because today was not a good day for running fast….

image

The plan for this race was to run a 6:20 pace until the turnaround capping my HR at 193 and then run 190-193 the rest of the way back regardless of pace.

IMG_2665_edited-1

I got in a warmup and it was very obvious to see the first half of the out and back course was going to be slow since it was right into the wind. Because of this trying to run with a group and having other bodies to block the wind would be a big deal.

image

The race started and I was able to stay in a pack and get through the first mile right at 6:20 without going over my HR limit but a quarter mile later I started to bump up against my limit so I backed and fell off the back of that group.

I hoped another group would catch up to me but it never happened. I got one or two people coming past me I could draft but I ran mostly by myself until the turnaround,  and it’s easy to how that impacted my race, with 6:54 and 7:02 as my mile 2 and 3 splits.

image

Coming back was obviously faster with the wind at my back  and I was actually able to run a wind aided 5k PR if you used just the second the half of this race.

The last .2 miles went over a bridge and then a short straightaway to the finish. After coming over the bridge I saw the finishing clock and thought I still had a chance for sub 40 but…

IMG_2724_edited-1

I got hit by a nice swirling gust of 50mph wind that brought me to a stop and almost knocked me over, and yes that is sand, dirt, etc getting blown around by all the wind

 IMG_2729_edited-1

So I missed sub 40 but 4 1/100ths of a second.

IMG_2737_edited-1

Leave a Reply

