Doing some Cooking

With time off the holidays and relatively light training load I’ve spent some time cooking the last couple of weeks.

I cooked something I’d been wanting to for a long time, braised pork belly.

IMG_3764_edited-1

I started with the pork and browned it for a while.

IMG_3767_edited-1

Then I cooked up some vegetables

IMG_3770_edited-1

Added the pork back to pan and surrounded it with chicken stock

IMG_3774_edited-1

Then it went into the oven for several hours and I took it out to cool and reduced the sauce.

IMG_3777_edited-1

Then put the pork back into the oven at a higher temperature

IMG_3779_edited-1

I was a little disappointed, the actual meat was great but it turned out to be very fatty. I’m not sure if that was because I didn’t braise it long enough to melt off the fat or that’s just how this cut turns out.

I’ve also cooked some pork chops with roasted grapes

IMG_3749

And made some berry french toast for breakfast on Christmas morning.

IMG_3757_edited-1

Rack of lamb was also on sale at the grocery store one day so I bought that and cooked it up and added a roasted tomato tart.

IMG_3732

IMG_3745

IMG_3740

Leave a Reply

